State Wrestling: Crusaders, Cavaliers win division team titles

It had been a long dry spell for De La Salle wrestling since leaving the Catholic League several years ago.

But the drought ended on Feb. 13, some 330 miles away from their home on “The Avenue” when coach Rod Cusach’s Cavaliers won their first Division III championship at the CenturyLink Center in Bossier City.

Although the Cavaliers did not have an individual champion, they had four finalists who finished in second place and accrued 214.5 total points over the two-day Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Wrestling meet. They outnumbered 12-time champion Brusly, whose 194.5 points were 20 short of De La Salle’s number.

Brother Martin gave the Archdiocese of New Orleans a second team champion by winning its fifth consecutive Division I title, behind its four individual champions: Jacob Clapp, 220-pound winner; Pierce Williams, 170-pound winner; Luke Cotton, who won the 106-pound title, and 120-pound junior Steven Shields, who won his third consecutive state championship.

Coach Robert Dauterive’s Crusaders outscored its Catholic League archrival, Jesuit, 304 points to 268.

Holy Cross had an impressive showing. The Tigers won four Division I weight classes and finished a solid third place with 228.5 points. St. Paul’s was fifth.

The archdiocese had 17 individual champions, including Jesuit senior Guy Patron, who was named the meet’s Outstanding Wrestler.

In final round matches pairing wrestlers from local Catholic schools – St. Paul’s Cole Houser won a 4-2 decision over Paul Stephen Schmidt of Brother Martin in the 113-pound finals; Steven Shields of Brother Martin (120) decisioned Joseph Dupre of Jesuit, 7-5; Holy Cross’ Cole Clement (132) won over Brother Martin’s Seth Gambill, 3-0; Jake Rando of Holy Cross (145) decisioned St. Paul’s Hunter Bourgeois, 5-2; and Matthew Putnam of Holy Cross (182) decisioned Jesuit’s Brandon Greer, 12-8. 

Outstanding wrestler

Guy Patron of Jesuit, winner of the Division I, 195-pound weight class, won the LHSAA’s Outstanding Wrestler Award for his performance at the state meet in Bossier City on Feb. 13. Patron defeated Hahnville’s Trevon Honor to end his senior season with a 39-1 record.

We are the champions!

Luke Cotton

Bro. Martin, Div. I, 106 lbs.

Cole Houser

St. Paul’s, Div. 1, 113 lbs.

Steven Shields

Bro. Martin, Div. I, 120 lbs.

Blake Mateu

Abp. Rummel, Div. II, 120 lbs.

Eli Larrivierre

Jesuit, Div. I, 126 lbs. 

Cole Clement

Holy Cross, Div. 1, 132 lbs.

Jake Rando

Holy Cross, Div. I, 145 lbs.

Joey Foret

Holy Cross, Div. I, 152 lbs.

Pierce Williams

Bro. Martin, Div. 1, 170 lbs.

Josh Ramirez

Abp. Rummel, Div. II, 170 lbs.

Matthew Putnam

Holy Cross, Div. I, 182 lbs.

Cameron Bertot

Abp. Shaw, Div. II, 182 lbs.

Jacob Clapp

Bro. Martin, Div. 1, 220 lbs.

Robert Hudgins

Abp. Rummel, Div. II, 220 lbs.

Corey Dublin

Jesuit, Div. I, 285 lbs.

Matthew Blair

Abp. Shaw, Div. II, 285 lbs.


Winning state wrestling championships never gets old at Brother Martin as head coach Robert Dauterive retained the Brother Melchior trophy after winning a fifth title.

Coach Rod Cusachs’ De La Salle squad captured its first wrestling team championship in 46 years by unseating 12-time champion Brusly for the Division III title on Feb. 13.


Catholic World News

Dorignacs 1
Loyola-Sharpen Ad
Daughters of Charity