National Merit Corp. scholarships awarded

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced 2011 college scholarships awarded to students in Catholic high schools in the Archdiocese of New Orleans:

Awarded $2,500 Achievement Scholarships as outstanding Black American high school seniors were Candace C. Ross, Gretna, De La Salle; Brandon J. Jacobs, Harvey, Archbishop Shaw; Devinn K. Rolland, Harvey, Cabrini; Nicholas A. Johnson, New Orleans, Jesuit; Wyatt L. Smith, New Orleans, Brother Martin.

National Merit Scholarship $2,500 winners were Mary Rosalie Stoner, Gretna, St. Mary’s Dominican; Daniel Cooper, Mandeville, Jesuit; William C. Ryan, Metairie, Jesuit; Thomas P. Dowling, New Orleans, Jesuit.

Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners were Matthew J. DeCuir, Harahan, Jesuit; Nicholas J. Wallbillich, Metairie, Jesuit; Alex E. Hotard, River Ridge, Jesuit.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners were Courtney E. Dorazio, Kenner, Mount Carmel Academy; Robert L. Helm, Kenner, Jesuit; Donald F. Ward, Kenner, Jesuit; Brandon S. Slay, Madisonville, Jesuit; Katherine A. Ball, Metairie, Mount Carmel; Briana E. Daniel, Metairie, Mount Carmel; Mark A. Haydel, Metairie, Brother Martin; Salvador R. Maffei, Metairie, Jesuit;  Joel R. Ruhlman,  Metairie, Brother Martin; Michael P. Berry, New Orleans, Jesuit; Callender R. Creel, New Orleans, Jesuit; Gabrielle D. Fowler, New Orleans, St. Mary’s Dominican; Bradley T. James, New Orleans, Jesuit; Grace E. Mineo-Marinello, New Orleans, St. Mary’s Dominican; John D. Rose, New Orlans, Jesuit; Jacob D. Moore, Destrehan, Jesuit; Kevin P. Whittaker, Destrehan, Jesuit; Daniel W. Dupre, Kenner, Jesuit; Matthew T. Martin, Kenner, Jesuit; Nicholas J. Caluda, Mandeville, Jesuit; Rachel M. Christoph, Metairie, Mount Carmel; Chandler C. Moody, Metairie, Academy of the Sacred Heart; Mark E. Morreale, Metairie, Archbishop Rummel; Christopher M. Munna, Metairie, Jesuit; Sarah E. Seyler, Metairie, St. Mary’s Dominican; Sophie R. Vitter, Metairie, Mount Carmel; Nathan B. Walker, Metairie, Brother Martin; Richard P. Bordelon, New Orleans, Jesuit; David H. Brett, New Orleans, Jesuit; Charles H. Pratt, New Orleans, Jesuit.