Catholic schools shine in Academic Games contest

The Academic Games League of New Orleans, an affiliate of the Academic Games Leagues of America (AGLOA), recently held its 50th competition in which individual students and teams demonstrated their knowledge of the presidents of the United States. Presidents are identified from three clues – ranging from harder to easier – with points awarded to students when they guess the correct president.
➤ In the elementary team division, grade 6 and younger, St. Pius X’s team of Meredith Kononcheck, Sam Miltenberger, Matthew Conant, Camille Claire Truxillo and Julia Tatman placed first; Audubon Charter’s team of Sebastien Barrau, Sasha Wolfson, Tenchi Otten-Rashad, Victor Pereira-Leite and Faustina Gomez, second; and McGehee’s team of Ava Zander, Emi Ferguson, Elizabeth Mobley, Emily Baumgarten and Itohan Dennar, third.
Individually, Sebastian Barrau of Audubon Charter placed first; Meredith Kononcheck of St. Pius X, second; and Nathan King of Lusher, third.
➤ In the middle team division of grade 8 and younger, Audubon Charter’s Elijah Zitler, Derek Witzig, Ava Wilkes, Rachel Cannata, Maxwell Hickman placed first; Isidore Newman’s Brady Ferguson, Rishik Bethi, Eesha Bethi, Ethan Lee and Larsen Vincent placed second; and Audubon Charter’s Jack Parker, Joaquin Gomez, Jack Creevy, Patrick Keefe and Sasha Robertson placed third.
Individually in the middle division, Audubon Charter’s Elijah Zitler placed first, Derek Witzig placed second and Ava Wilkes tied for third with Isidore Newman’s Brady Ferguson.

➤ In the junior and senior team division, grade 9 and younger: Jesuit’s A team of Matthew Dowling, Caleb Rogers, David Gravolet, Ryan Tucker, Michael Farrugia placed first; Jesuit’s B team of Dexter Webster, Nicholas Cibilich, Luke Pertuit, Tanner Tripoli, Daniel Sentilles, placed second; and Benjamin Franklin’s team of Keyana Kahiri, Ashley Woods, Jack Wang, Mariza Francis, Hannah Lee placed third.

Individually in the junior division, Jesuit’s Matthew Dowling placed first, Caleb Rogers placed second and Dave Gravolet placed third.

➤ In the senior division of grade 12 and below, Brother Martin’s A team of Hunter Mathas, Dominique Lousteau, Adam Peters placed first; Benjamin Franklin’s team of Aroosa Cheema, Aleena Cheema, Autumn Richards second; and Brother Martin’s B team of Trey Andrews, Tarik Lopez and Austin Kain, third.

Individually in the senior division winners were: Hunter Mathas, Brother Martin, first; Aroosa Cheema, Benjamin Franklin, second; Brother Martin’s Dominique Lousteau tied for third with Benjamin Franklin’s Aleena Cheetma. 

Catholic World News
Loyola-Sharpen Ad
Dorignacs 1
Daughters of Charity